Na-Na-Na-Na-Na-…

Posted: March 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

“Livvy,” I say, “It’s time to take your medicine.” Holding out a glass with a tiny bit of medicine hidden in apple juice, I smile and try again.

“Livvy, come and drink your medicine.”

Looking at me with those brown eyes that can melt the heart of any adult who happens to come within melting distance, my five-year-old daughter folds her arms across her chest and says, “NO!”

Sighing, I try one more time. “Livvy, drink your medicine.”

Covering her ears with both hands and closing her eyes, she opens her mouth and says, “NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA!!!!!!!!!!”

“Livvy,” I say with a slight edge to my voice, “STOP.”

“NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA!!!!!”

“LIVVY!”

She stops. Her head swings back and forth. Her hands plant themselves on her hips. Her eyes shoot brown arrows and says, “NO!NO!NO!”

1…2…

“FINE!” She stomps her feet and drinks her medicine.

Sassy only begins to describe her!

Comments
  1. Deb says:

    I would be tempted to tell a mother’s white lie…and not to mention the little bit of medicine. Hmmm…maybe not…but then again, a mother has do what she has to do.

Leave a Reply

