It Seems Like Yesterday…but, It Was 21 Years Ago?

Posted: March 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

Yesterday was my oldest daughter’s birthday. Twenty-one. It does not seem possible.

It seems like yesterday that she came into the world feet first.

It seems like yesterday that she looked at me with those blue eyes and smiled because she knew I was “Mom”.

It seems like yesterday that we sat on the couch and read Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now?

It seems like yesterday that she slipped on the floor and cracked her nose.

It seems like yesterday that she peddled her bike without the training wheels for the first time.

It seems like yesterday that she said “I’m running away!”, packed her bags, and walked to the neighbor’s yard because she had no where to go.

It seems like yesterday that she won the DARE essay contest.

It seems like yesterday that she got her braces on and cried.

It seems like yesterday that she ran wild through the fields on Chex, her horse.

It seems like yesterday that we dressed in black and tee-peed Wendy’s house.

It seems like yesterday that she got her first grown-up hair cut.

It seems like yesterday that she hit three deer while driving my Hyundai.

It seems like yesterday that she walked across the stage and received her diploma.

It seems like yesterday that I wondered what kind of a woman she would become.

It was yesterday when I realized what a beautiful woman she has become.

Comments
  1. Aimee says:

    A very nice tribute… I am all teary-eyed from reading it. I hope you are sharing this with her!

  2. Tam says:

    This is beautiful, Betsy!! Happy Birthday to your 21 year old! Now you have to admit that writing this felt good! I don’t hear a moan… These were the good times. You’re a cool mom, too. Good to hear from you again. I always try to find you.

    • Tara says:

      This made me cry…you are right, it goes by too fast!

    • Sprice says:

      Bets, I love this! You’ve got me thinking about what i could write about my daughter and son. Beautiful! I know I’m late but I should have told you yesterday to tell her Happy Birthday! I can’t believe she is 21! What a day! Have a great weekend! Happy Slicing! 🙂

  3. Elizabeth G. says:

    That was beautiful and a true picture of how every parent feels. Happy belated birthday to your daughter.

Leave a Reply

