Heaven Sent

Posted: March 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

You know life is crazy when the Roto-Rooter man comes to your house, lays the plunger in your bathroom sink, and it’s still sitting there three days later.

That was my life last week. You know the kind of week I am talking about. The kind where you can’t breathe–there is no time. The kind where every step you take toward completing one task leads straight to another. The kind where you run and run and run and run down is how you feel. Because you are.

Yesterday, life was that way. I knew that when we got home from gymnastics that my night–and the rest of nights in this week-would be spent cleaning my house. My kitchen would have been deemed unhealthy and my house condemned by the State Board of Health if they had seen it. Quite honestly, I’m not sure if the smells permeating my house came from the plunger setting in the bathroom sink, the overly used litter box, the overflowing trashcan, or the piles of dirty dishes laying all over the kitchen counters. 

So, after work…I decided enough was enough. We skipped gymnastics, ran to the grocery store, spent too much money, and drove home. Wondering where I was going to set the bags of groceries, I unlocked the front door. 

I stopped. I could not comprehend what I saw. Like a scene from a movie, I scanned the house. No longer were there piles of trash and dirty dishes and left overs and dirty clothes and blankets and markers and ugly smells attacking my nose. Instead, there were sparkling clean counter tops–no dishes or food or trash in sight. There were only bare floors and furniture and  good smells emanating from the rooms I walked through. 

Still uncomprehending, unbelieving, I spied a note propped against the vase on the kitchen table. It read “Hey Sweet Lovely Lady, I know you have been stressed out lately. Relax. Enjoy.”

As my brain took in the reality of the note and my surroundings, I realized that once again this man in my life has proven that he is Heaven sent.

 

Comments
  1. Debbi says:

    Yea!!! Glad you have this man in your life, glad he recognized the need you had, and glad you have one less stress (for the moment) in your life. My favorite line you wrote: “As my brain took in the reality of the note and my surroundings…” Love you, Lady!

  2. elsie says:

    That is truly an act of love! The surprise of it makes this a great story. I feared what you were looking at, but relaxed as I read on. Well told!

  3. sprice says:

    Hey ,guess I don’t have a corner on the market now! Sound like you have a keeper! Better keep this one! I’m so happy for you! So glad you have the house clean and I love the way you wrote this. Share this with him. He’ll love it! Happy Slicing! 🙂

  4. Donna Smith says:

    The ending made me cry! What a special guy! Great story for keeping forever.

Leave a Reply

