Lessons Learned

Posted: March 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

“Hey Mom, that you check you wrote me for gas was made out to me, not the gas station.” Victoria stated over the phone. 

 

“Oh,” I said, realizing my mistake. “What are you going to do?”

 

“I don’t know, Mom.” she replied panic creeping into her voice. “I will be late to work.” Victoria just recently started this job, so I wanted her to succeed. “Well, call your Dad,” I said, “He is only five minutes away. He can meet you at the gas station and pay for your gas.”

 

“I don’t have time!” Victoria yelled into the phone. “I have another idea. Bye.”

 

Being at work, there was nothing I could do to help her. I felt bad that I had written the check out to her by mistake. But, in the end, I knew that this was really her problem and that she needed to solve it. And she would if I let her. So, I hung up the phone and went back to work.

 

Awhile later, she called again. “Mom, I just wanted to apologize for being rude. I was worried and upset. I took care of the problem. The Shell station let me write a check, and I made it to work on time. Joe (her boyfriend) told me a shortcut when I called him.”

 

At that point, I realized that she had learned an important lesson. And, being the Mom that I am I could not resist telling her a lesson I had learned a long time ago:fill up the tank the night before when time is not an issue. Even though Victoria is almost twenty-two years old, there are so many lessons she has yet to learn. Unfortunately, many of those lessons will be learned the hard way. But, unless she experiences those tough moments, and unless I allow her to solve them on her own, she will never mature into the successful person I know she can be. 

 

As I am writing this, I chuckle because I have learned a lesson myself: let go, and let Victoria lead her life. She is capable when given the opportunity. Oh, so hard to do.

Comments
  1. Debbi says:

    Even as adults we have to learn life lessons, especially when it comes to rearing our children to be successful adults. Love the conversation between you…could hear your voices.

  2. Tam says:

    So likb is you!! I’ve been looking for you, looking for “Betsy” I guess. Good job on the dialogue. I have a tendency to stay away from it even though I taught it. I think we learn along with our grown-up kids. Glad you’re on board!!

  3. T. Blauvelt says:

    I found you. :). This story reminds me of a time my mom had written a check for me for gas and I went to the wrong gas station to fill up. That was before cell phones. Ha ha ha…thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

